Leadership

Today in my class The Branding of Me, we watched the TED video by Simon Sinek. I had watched part of it before a couple months ago, but I really enjoyed being able to watch/think about it again today in class.

Today when I watched it, his ending words stood out to me.

“There are leaders and there are those who lead.
Leaders hold a position of power or authority.
But those who lead inspire us.
Whether they’re individuals or organizations, we follow those who lead, not because we have to, but because we want to.
We follow those who lead, not for them, but for ourselves.
And it’s those who start with “why” that have the ability to inspire those around them or find others who inspire them.”

If you have a few minutes, I would encourage you to watch this video (or try to watch it some point).

Jackie Robinson broke the color line in baseball on April 15, 1947, which was exactly 66 years ago today. When I listened to the part of the video about leaders, I thought of Jackie Robinson. Through his actions, courage and determination Jackie Robinson was a incredible leader and true inspiration.

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Leadership

Leave a Reply

