Reflecting on my Love for the Chicago Cubs

Yesterday, the Chicago Cubs played their first home game of the season at Wrigley Field.  Like so many times in my life, especially during baseball season, the Cubs were on my mind. When I look back, I do not remember a time I was not a Cubs fan.  Even when I moved from Charlotte to Salisbury, North Carolina, people still figured out I was a Cubs fan.

I have no idea what exactly made me become a Cubs fan.  It probably started when I was pretty young and my family would visit friends in Chicago.  During these vacations I would get to go to Cubs games.  I think that the fun experience I had at the games has just stuck with me.  That’s about the only reasoning I can think of because I can’t imagine it is easy have such a truly positive association with a team that has not won the World Series in over a century.

Photo I took at Wrigley Field

Photo I took at Wrigley Field

The Cubs have created some of my favorite memories.

I remember in elementary school frequently checking the sports section in the newspaper and looking at the Cubs box score.

In 2003, my parents, brother, and I went to watch the Cubs beat the Atlanta Braves in Game 5 of the series to move on the NL Divisional series.  The atmosphere at the game was incredible. I also was very familiar with all the players on the team and my favorite player, Kerry Wood, pitched that game. It was perfect.

I also remember watching the Steve Bartman incident in the NL Championship Series in the 2003 playoffs.  I must admit, I still feel kind of bad for that guy.

One year in middle school I wore some kind of Cubs shirt almost every day to school. Yeah…that is how much I really like the Cubs.

I will never forget the pure excitement I felt watching Sammy Sosa at bat at Wrigley Field.  Also, the time that I was thrown a ball at batting practice when we saw a game in Atlanta.

These are the memories I will have forever and I hope to have many more Cubs memories in my future.

While I do not get the chance to watch the Cubs as much as I use to, I am still very excited that the Cubs season has begun.  The Cubs are already making some news with talk of a Wrigley Field renovation.  While they are off to a little bit of a rocky start, I have a good feeling about this season.

Here’s to hoping this will be the Cubs year!

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on my Love for the Chicago Cubs

  1. Interesting- this is the first I’ve heard of the Jumbotron plan. I wonder what effect that’ll have on the wind… Anyway, always good to stumble upon a fellow Tar Heel! Hope the PoliSci business is treating you well.

    • Thanks for the comment! Yeah, the jumbotron will definitely cause some big changes at Wrigley. That’s a great point about the wind. Hopefully the renovations to the stadium will be nice though.

Leave a Reply

